top of page
  • Writer's pictureOanh Kim

Different Love Languages: How to Maintain a Healthy Relationship

"Love is not just a feeling, it's an art. And like any art, it takes not only inspiration but also a lot of work." - Paulo Coelho

Have you ever heard of love languages? It wasn't until I was in my mid-thirties and met the person I wanted to marry that I discovered the concept. According to Dr. Gary Chapman, author of "The Five Love Languages," there are five primary ways in which people express and receive love: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch. Understanding your own love language and that of your partner can be crucial to building and maintaining a happy, healthy relationship.

As I pondered whether my partner and I spoke different love languages, I wondered if it was possible to still have a loving relationship. The answer is yes, but it requires effort and understanding from both partners. Learning and knowing how to speak each other's love language is the key. Here are some tips we've gathered from our own learning journey.

Learn about each other's love language

It is essential to learn about each other's love language. Talk openly with your partner about what makes you feel loved and how you like to express love. Ask your partner the same questions. It's important to be honest, open-minded, and non-judgmental about each other's preferences.

Compromise and show interest

Once you understand each other's love language, try to incorporate elements of each other's love language into your daily routine. For example, if your partner's love language is Acts of Service, try to do something thoughtful for them, such as cooking their favorite meal or doing the laundry. If your love language is Physical Touch, ask your partner to cuddle with you while watching a movie.

Focus on the positive

When speaking different love languages, it's easy to get caught up in what you're not receiving from your partner. Instead, focus on what they are doing to show love. Even if it's not your preferred love language, appreciate the effort your partner is making to show their love for you.

Communicate openly

Communication is key in any relationship, and it's especially crucial when speaking different love languages. Talk to your partner about what's working and what's not working. Share your feelings and be open to feedback. Don't let misunderstandings or resentments build up.

Be patient and persistent

Building a strong, loving relationship takes time and effort. It won't happen overnight, and there will be ups and downs. But if you and your partner are committed to making it work, and if you're patient and persistent, you can create a healthy, happy relationship.


Understanding and accepting each other's differences is crucial in any relationship. However, when it comes to love languages, it can be even more challenging. It's essential to recognize that we all have unique ways of expressing and receiving love, and it's not always easy to understand our partner's love language.

But don't worry, it's not impossible to navigate. By taking the time to learn about each other's love language, you can make significant strides in creating a happy, healthy relationship. Compromise is also essential when it comes to love languages. You may not naturally speak your partner's love language, but making an effort to incorporate elements of it into your daily routine can show that you care and love them.

In addition, focusing on the positive and communicating openly are key elements to making it work. Don't get caught up in what you're not receiving from your partner. Instead, appreciate the effort they are making to show their love for you, even if it's not in your preferred love language. Communication is also essential to ensuring that both partners feel understood and heard. By being patient and persistent, you and your partner can create a fulfilling relationship that is built on understanding and acceptance of each other's love languages.

Note: The tips provided in this blog post are not intended to replace professional therapy or counseling. If you and your partner are struggling in your relationship, consider seeking the help of a licensed therapist.


  • Chapman, G. D. (1992). The five love languages: How to express heartfelt commitment to your mate. Northfield Publishing.


bottom of page